Nintendo Switch Sports Release Time

Here’s when Switch gamers can expect Nintendo Switch Sports to digitally unlock through the eShop.

Quick links

  • Sports prices on the Nintendo Switch
  • Nintendo Switch Sports eShop Expected Release Date

It’s been over 10 years since Nintendo fans got a new entry into the Sports Wii series. It started with the launch of Sports Wii with the Nintendo Wii in 2006, then Wii Sports Complex launched in 2009, which was also released for Wii. Now, in 2022, Nintendo Switch Sports is here to bring new players back to the family fun multiplayer series. Thanks to the motion controls of the Joy-Con controllers, returning players will feel comfortable with the mechanics, especially for iconic sports like bowling and tennis.

GAMER VIDEO OF THE DAY

Sports prices on the Nintendo Switch

Nintendo Switch Sports retails for $49.99 for the physical edition, and the digital version is $10 less, at $39.99. The reason for the price difference is that the physical version comes with a leg strap peripheral that can be used in the soccer minigame – it’s the same one used in Ring shaped adventure.

RELATED: After Nintendo Switch Sports, Nintendo Should Review More Mii-Centric Games

Nintendo Switch Sports eShop Expected Release Date

For Nintendo fans who don’t care to have the physical copy, or don’t need the football leg strap, Nintendo Switch Sports can be purchased and preloaded on the Switch eShop. Its file size is 3GB, taking up much less space than other first-party Switch games.


As for the expected launch times for Nintendo Switch Sportsplayers should be able to start playing around 9:00 p.m. PT (April 28), the day before the release date of the physical game. For other time zones, it is appropriate unlock at 10:00 p.m. MT / 11:00 p.m. CT / 12:00 a.m. ET / 5:00 a.m. BST (London) / 2:00 p.m. AEST (Australia).

All the sports

Six different sports games will be available at launch for Nintendo Switch Sports. There will be a seventh additional sport to be added after launch:

  • Football
  • Volleyball
  • Bowling
  • Tennis
  • Badminton
  • Chambara (sword game)
  • Golf (to be added via update in fall 2022)

Whereas Nintendo plans to support Nintendo Switch Sports after the launch with additional sports, it could mean that other types of DLC could be added after Golf. With the game having full online multiplayer support, limited-time tournaments could also be a thing, like those featured in games like Super Smash Bros Ultimate and Mario Kart 8 Deluxe.


Nintendo Switch Sports is available for Nintendo Switch on April 29, 2022.

MORE: Nintendo’s Recent Trailers Look Like They Should Have Been Part Of A Direct

Source: Nintendo


Epic Games Store Gold Background

Epic Games Store’s Current Free Game Adds Achievements

Read more


About the Author

Comments are closed.